Read The BQ Brew!

My very awesome friend Manny Jalonschi is kicking ass and taking names! Well…not physically because he’s non-violent and a pacifist, but with WORDS!

He’s started his own online publication, The BQ Brew. I’ll let him explain why he decided to take on such an important project:

As a kid, I constantly traveled between the boroughs of Queens and Brooklyn. In fact I grew up in Ridgewood, a border community right between Brooklyn and Queens, amidst mamaliga, dancehall, salsa, botanicas, croatian bakeries and pick up basketball games where most of the people on the court didn’t speak english as a first language. Like millions of other New Yorkers in the East Boroughs I’ve seen our stories, our perspectives, the flavors of our life, put on the backburner, our culture treated as “less-than” and too often our people treated as “second-class New Yorkers.”

In short, I started this paper because there’s no longform critical analysis newspaper that tackles the issues unique to the East Boroughs as a whole. We’re a distinct entity of about 4.7 million New Yorkers between Brooklyn and Queens, and our perspectives either get lost in micro-local reporting or subsumed to in the reporting cycle emanating from Manhattan-centric media. There’s dozens of wonderful blogs, and a handful of truly excellent local weeklies and alternative papers, but we lack our own “drill-down” newspapers that get deep enough to make that micro-macro connection with the trends, stories and people that evolve and drive our two boroughs forward.

I KNOW! How great does that sound? I can honestly say I would read this even if I wasn’t friends with Manny. And not just because he’s letting me contribute (shameless self promotion, FTW). The information and analysis has been phenomenal so far, as is the quality of the writers – with the exception of my amateur ass of course.

So, to recap, reasons you should read The BQ Brew:
1- it seeks to provide quality, in depth analysis of issues unique to Brooklyn and Queens as a whole,
2- Manny has a passion for quality journalism that is evident in all of work, this included,
3- he’s letting me contribute :D,
4- I think the Brew will capture the different flavors of our B/Q culture and communities, and
5- because I SAID you should, and really isn’t that all the reason you need?

2 Responses to Read The BQ Brew!

  1. I every time used to study piece of writing
    in news papers but now as I am a user of net thus from now I
    am using net for content, thanks to web.

  2. Good article! We will be linking to this great
    article on our website. Keep up the great writing.

Leave a Reply

