STOP TRYING TO OCCUPY OUR UTERI!

By now I’m sure you’ve heard about Susan G. Komen for the Cure pulling its funding from Planned Parenthood.

Planned Parenthood says the move results from Komen bowing to pressure from anti-abortion activists. Komen says the key reason is that Planned Parenthood is under investigation in Congress —a probe launched by a conservative Republican who was urged to act by anti-abortion groups.

By the way, Komen’s rule about not giving $ to organizations who are under local, state, or federal investigation is brand spanking new.

Of course this news led to one BCM cursing at a dumbshit smartphone all night. And we all know what happens when BCM gets all cuss-y. That’s right, let’s break this shit DOWN, son!

Now, you would think that an organization like Komen would employ non-partisan people to run shit, right? Well, you thought wrong SUKKAH! Let’s meet Karen Handel, the senior VP of public policy at Komen. She also ran for governor of Georgia in 2010 and was endorsed by Failin’ Palin, among other dumbasses. While campaigning, she wrote a blog post about her views on Planned Parenthood and abortion. The post was removed from her site, but luckily the internet has a long memory.

I am staunchly and unequivocally pro-life. I believe in the sanctity and inherent dignity of human life, and I will be a pro-life governor who will work tirelessly to promote a culture of life in Georgia.

Yeah, Handel? Tell that to the thousands of people who won’t be able to get cancer screenings now. You’re pro-life til the moment of birth or unless a person is poor/uninsured.

No, I don’t think this woman is the only reason Komen bowed to RWNJ misogyny. So, I did a little more digging. On the Komen site you can see who their corporate sponsors and their “million dollar counsil” donors are. If you look about half way down the list you see 2 Georgia-Pacific companies. Guess who owns Georgia-Pacific? Why, it’s our favorite corporate douches, Koch Industries! If reading that doesn’t bother you, you have some reading to do. And this is just what I’ve found in the few snatches of quiet time I’ve had today. I’m sure you sexy nerds can educate me even further on the fuckery that’s probably going on at Komen.

Time for some BCM truthiness. Dollars and cents(sense?) time.

The per-patient costs for initial care in 1992 were estimated at $US 10,813, for continuing care at $US 1,084 and for terminal care at $US 17,886.

Basically, it’s cheaper to catch boobie cancer early and kick that bitch to the curb than to get diagnosed when you’re at, say, stage 3. But this is common fucking sense. Is it more cost effective to get a car tuned up regularly or to wait til your ass is stranded on a highway in East Bubblefuck Nowhere?

Please remember, only 3% of PP’s resources are used for terminating pregnancies (I’m tired of repeating myself, bitchez). For women like me, Planned Parenthood is one of the only places I can go to get my bits checked. And trust me, you don’t want anything bad happening to my rack. You can’t see it, but I promise you, it’s fabulous.

Below is the note I wrote to Komen for the Cure. I’m not gonna tell you what to do with your time or money. Just think about what your donations are supporting before you make them.

This is a note to inform you that I will never again donate a penny of my money or a second of my time to your organization. Your decision to pull funding from Planned Parenthood is not only saddening, it is infuriating. It sends a message to low-income/uninsured  women- their health is not as important as the misogynistic ideologies of some of your staff and some members of congress. 170,000 people will suffer, including me. Shame on you.
I will be suggesting to all my friends and associates (yes, poor people have influence, too. Surprise!) that they make donations to planned parenthood and other cancer associations instead of your grossly classist and apathetic organization.

4 Responses to STOP TRYING TO OCCUPY OUR UTERI!

  1. writechic says:

    Excellent letter. I’m so disgusted.

Leave a Reply

