Lil Blue

My Lil Blue is going to be ten years old on Thursday. 10. The Big One-Oh. Double digits. I remember holding him in the hospital after he was born and being terrified.

What if I mess up? What if I do something or say something and he grows up to be a serial killer? OK, that probably won’t happen. But what if he turns out to be a douche? What if he’s always unhappy? What if he grows up and hates me? What if he gets hurt? What if what if what if what if…..

Scary stuff, this parenting. And it never stops, does it? There’s always the question you ask yourself over and over…am I making the right decisions? Am I teaching my child how to be a decent human being? Well, I was reading this article from ScienceDaily and it made me wonder a little more:

“The top five values in 2007 were fame, achievement, popularity, image and financial success. In 1997, the top five were community feeling, benevolence (being kind and helping others), image, tradition and self-acceptance. In 2007, benevolence dropped to the 12th spot and community feeling fell to 11th. Financial success went from 12th in 1967 and 1997 to fifth in 2007.”

Fame is #1? Really? I gotta be honest, this makes me uncomfortable. Achievement, OK that’s not bad. Setting and achieving goals is important for kids. It helps them build confidence. Popularity? Eww. Image, alright. I bet most adults have that “value” in their top 5, too. Financial success… hmm. It’s understandable given the economic climate right now. But still, as a top 5 “value”? I don’t know how I feel about that.

So, I ask Lil Blue a question. This is how it goes down:

BCM: Hey, do you ever think about being famous?
Lil Blue: No.
BCM: Really? Do you ever think you’d want to be famous? It’s not important to you?
Lil Blue: No way. I don’t really care about being famous.
BCM: So, what do you care about?
Lil Blue: (duh, Mommy voice) I care about my family, of course! I want them to be happy.
BCM: And what about our friends (meaning his kid friends and our family friends)?
Lil Blue: (duh, Mommy voice) Our friends ARE part of our family! (shakes head, rolls eyes and leaves room)

I’m positive I make a lot of parenting mistakes. But maybe I’m doing something right, too…

9 Responses to Lil Blue

  1. Jim Stewart says:

    Happy Birthday, Lil Blue! Sounds like he’s got his head on straight.

    I’m glad he feels like his friends are part of his family. I certainly think of Lil Blue (and you guys, of course) as part of our family. We’ll see you soon.

  2. oso says:

    Hi bluecollarmamma, nice to talk with you on the show today.
    I hear you with kids, it’s a fear of not being able to do what ‘real’ parents do – meaning those adults who were around when I was a kid.
    Sounds like you’re doing fine, and will continue to do well. My girls are 30 and 26 and the time flew by.

  3. Oso is are official diplomat abroad! I ditto his message of companionship…. gosh knows, we have to stick together in this big mess. I’m enjoying your posts!
    Your voice joins ours in the outrage of everyday folks who work and have voted for something different than what we are being handed. Stop in again when you can. R u on FB? If so, hope you’ll “friend” me!

  4. Ya, would be nice if my grammer wasn’t so atrocious… OUR official …etc.

    • lol, no worries. i know what you meant. thanks for making me feel welcome. and thanks for everything you all do in getting the real news out there to the masses.

      we’re friends on fb already. i’ll send you a message to let you know who i am “in real life”

  5. jackjodell53 says:

    Lil Blue is lucky to have such a loving, common sense mamma! I’m glad you stopped by Gwen’s radio show; your comments were right on! I’m adding you to my blogroll. Keep up the good fight!

    By the way, I don’t have a college degree, either. But I read nonstop and have always been able to write. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

