Baby, I’m From New York…

The Marriage Equality Bill has been passed by the New York State Senate with a vote of ā€Ž33 YES, 29 NO. We now can proudly assert that we are one of only 6 states, and Washington DC, that supports equality for ALL couples.

My lovelies, I have been watching this issue for weeks now. I’ve had tunnel vision. It got to the point that this is all I was thinking about. Because, really, I haven’t only been watching this issue for weeks. I’ve been watching it for my entire adult life.

My heart is so full right now. I promise to have more details for you tomorrow. Right now all I can do is happily cry into my frosty mug full of beer. I’ll tell you this though. I’ve never been prouder to call myself a New Yorker. And so I’ll leave you with a quote from Senator Mark Grisanti, a Republican Senator who is also a Catholic, who was able to lay aside his personal beliefs (albeit after religious protections and exemptions were added to the bill) and recognize that his job is to ensure the rights of ALL New Yorkers.

GRISANTI: “You can be wiser today than yesterday if you do the work”

 

6 Responses to Baby, I’m From New York…

  1. Davida Schnebelen says:

    Very well said….my Best Friend is gay and one of the best people I know. To know he has the same rights as we do makes me smile…

  2. MichaelEdits says:

    Definitely excellent news.

  3. writechic says:

    You go, New York!!! šŸ˜€

    One more state where equality can be realized.

  4. Marioooooool says:

    Yes! I turned my phone on today with the sight of good news. This will be epic. I think the fact that NY State decided to support the bill, that other states will quickly follow suit. Slavery had to end somewhere. So does denying rights to homosexual couples.

  5. Eva says:

    All I can say is Its About Time!!!!!!!!! Woot woot!

  6. Liz says:

    Finally! ā¤

Leave a Reply

