I Love the Holidays

That’s right. I’m an Atheist and I love the holidays. There are a lot of us out there, too. Surprised? Why? All the Atheists/Non-theists I know try to be kind, decent humans all year longs. This is the one time of year when everyone else seems to share in that feeling of love and respect for their fellow humans. I love the feeling of happiness and excitement that seems to last for a month. And I live in NYC. It’s hard not to love the holidays here. So, my tree is up and my decorations are being put up this week. And it makes me very happy 🙂

Wondering what to get me for the holidays? Save your money. I don’t want anything that can be bought. If you must spend money on something, think about giving a few bucks to my wonderful friend, The Rev. If you don’t have his book, buy it. If you have his book, buy a copy for a friend. If all you have is a couple of bucks to spare, donate to his cause. Please believe me when I tell you that every penny sent to him will be used to fight neo-con, teabagging, astroturf type douchebags. If you can’t or won’t send money, then just read his blog and spread the word. Like I’ve said, I know The Rev in real life and he is the real deal. A big part of who he is and what he’s about is right there on his blog. I don’t know about you, but I respect that.

I want no money. Whatever ads there are on this blog are from WordPress, not me. What I want from you is simple. I want you to think. I don’t mean about your mortgage/rent/car/etc.. I mean I want you to take 5 minutes out of your day and just think about you. Take time to think about your actions and emotions and ask yourself why? Why do you dislike the things you do? Why do you like other things? Why did you get mad at the person in the supermarket yesterday? Why did you laugh at that joke the other day? Just take a few minutes out of every day and try to sort of step back and view yourself and your actions objectively. That’s all I want.

And have a little fun, for fuckssake!

One Response to I Love the Holidays

  1. writechic says:

    I love the holidays, too. And it’s not because I’m a monotheistic-ethicist-slash-omg-religious-people-are-fucking-nuts-pantheist. I like the sparkles and twinkly smiles. 😀

Leave a Reply

