Thanks, Mr. Weird Guy!

This morning I walked Lil Blue and his best friend to school. It was a nice morning. Warm for this time of year, sunny, a bit windy. The main street was especially noisy today so I decided to take a detour home. I have a lot of things on my mind right now and I knew I could use the quiet walk to think and maybe work some stuff out.

So, there I was, lost in thought and just across the street from my house when someone mumbled something at me. Now, I’m not really a morning person. Normally I’d just pretend like I don’t speak English and walk away. But I was so caught up in what I was thinking that I didn’t do that. Here is the short conversation that transpired:

I should make it clear at this point that Mr. Weird Guy was not using a conversational tone. It was slightly agitated and a bit confrontational. Also, I live pretty close to this lovely establishment. I’ve seen Mr. WG around and am pretty sure he’s an addict.

MR. WG: (mumbles)
BCM: Sorry?
MR. WG: Nothin’ to be sorry about. Why you sorry that somebody said ‘good morning’ to you?
BCM: Oh, did you? I said sorry because I didn’t hear what you said. Good morning. (starts walking away)
MR. WG: What are you gonna do that’s great today?
BCM: (thinks for  few seconds)…Breathe.
MR. WG: Breathe? Breathe?! What’s so great about that? 7 billion people in this world breathe all the time. What are you gonna do today that’s great? That’s special and exceptional?
BCM: … I don’t have an answer for that. Have a great day.
MR. WG: (shouting at BCM’S back) You think about it and write it down! I’ll meet you back here tomorrow and you can tell me the great thing you did!

By the time I reached my stoop, I was nearly in tears. Not because I was scared. I’ve lived in this neighborhood all my life and know how to deal with random junkies. Hell, I know half of them. No, I was nearly in tears mostly because he had a good point. What am I going to do today that’s going to be great?

I nearly had an existential break-down all because I didn’t ignore the guy collecting cans out of the trash can on the corner. The beauty in that is enough to make me a little teary eyed as I write this.

I wonder what would happen if I pretended I didn’t speak English a little less often…

 

9 Responses to Thanks, Mr. Weird Guy!

  1. Davida Schnebelen says:

    I love that you shared this. The great thing that you do today doesn’t have to be a big thing….walking your son to school and having quality time with him is a great thing. Waking up and taking care of your family is a great thing.

  2. Mia says:

    Amazing things would happen…. 🙂

  3. Sister Blue says:

    So did you meet up with him again?

  4. osori says:

    Like what Davida says.You’ve got kids and you love them.My daughters are my life, every moment with them is precious. 20 or 30 years from now, you’ll look back and wish you could experience having them little again-but you won’t regret anything cause you’re a giving parent.
    And THAT is great.

  5. Fross says:

    I can’t agree with Davida and others. Doing your regular things is not doing something “great”. As Chris Rock said, “‘i take care of my kids’ – you’re SUPPOSED to!” – if you glorify your regular routine, you’re completely missing the point.

    The weirdo asked a great question – why are you not using today to start or do something exceptional? There is nothing stopping you. So dust off that project you’ve had in the back of our mind for years, and do something with it.

    If you get stuck in your mundane tasks, you’re wasting time. Do it, just get it started. Consider this enlightenment a gift. Good luck!

  6. “Doing stuff is overrated. Like Hitler. He did a lot. But don’t we all wish he woulda just stayed home and gotten stoned?”
    – Dex in “The Tao of Steve”

Leave a Reply

