I Wish I Had Balls

Not actual testicles. I mean cojones. I mean a fundamental need to stand up for what I think is right and just.

I am a coward. I am the scum of the Earth.

I look at my American ancestors and I am ashamed. I learn about my working class history and am disgusted with myself. Where is the fire in my belly? How do I motivate my soul? When will I say “enough is enough” and put myself on the line for what I believe?

And I sit and write this blog that is an infinitesimal speck that doesn’t really mean anything except to me. And I use it to justify my inactivity.

I am worse than the scum of the Earth. At least scum has a purpose.

4 Responses to I Wish I Had Balls

  1. Liz says:

    Pshaw! Just because YOU may not see your purpose doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist!

  2. Jo says:

    I agree with Liz’s statement. And you know what else? I wish I had the balls to write a blog!

  3. writechic says:

    Stop beating yourself up, girl. The world takes its hits. It doesn’t need your help.

    Raising kids is not for sissies. Takes mondo, ginormous balls.

  4. oso says:

    There’s so much wrong,but we all do what we can.We’ve got jobs and kids, we worry and we don’t have the kind of safety net other countries have. You CARE, and that puts you head and shoulders above so many others.
    There’s lots of assholes, you’re NOT one of them. Your writing shows you’re a good person, and you care. Keep on spreading the message that we need progressive change. You’re doing your part. We’re not all Joan of Arc or Crazy Horse or Buffalo Calf Road Woman. We’re people and from what I read here you’re a good one. Keep on feeling and caring.

Leave a Reply

