Dumbass of the Week: Continued

Apparently one DotW wasn’t good enough for ole Carl Paladimwit. Nope, he had to go and dig his grave a little deeper again today.

Sometimes, the stupidity and hypocrisy is too strong to ignore. So sit back, relax, grab your barf bag, and enjoy the ride!

Firstly, there’s this juicy bit of information(tip o’ the hat to Reverend Manny for posting this on FB).

The newspaper reported that a club named Cobalt operated as a gay bar in 2004 and most of 2005 and was run by Paladino’s son, William. It was housed in a building owned by one of Paladino’s many companies, Huron Group LLC, the newspaper said.

So, let me see if I’ve got this straight. You think gay people shouldn’t be allowed the basic civil right of pursuing their right to happiness. You think the LGBT community has some kind of “agenda” and you think they’re trying to “brainwash” our children. You’ve gone so far as to call them “disgusting“. And yet you have no problem giving them a space to carry on with their “grinding” while wearing speedos? You have no problem taking their money, you’d even hire gay people to work on the campaign. Right? So, you’d use them to get whatever it is you need from them, but continue to deny them the right to legally marry the people they love? Nice.That’s like going up to someone on the street and telling them you hate them because they’re obsessed with time, you hate everything they represent because they love time so much, they have a time agenda and shouldn’t be allowed to check the time… and then trying to sell them a fucking watch.

Anyway, I woke up this morning and the first thing I hear on the news is Paladumbass has issued an official apology regarding his hate-filled, anti-gay speech. I couldn’t wait to read this mess. Let’s go through it together, shall we?

I am Carl Paladino, a father, a husband, a builder and a business owner. I am neither perfect, nor a career politician. I have made mistakes in this campaign – I have made mistakes all my life – as we all have. I am what I am – a simple man who works hard, trusts others, and loves his family and fears for the future of our State.

He’s also a cheater, the father of a 10-year-old lovechild and liar. He sure as shit makes mistakes, just ask his wife. Off topic, but every time I hear someone say “I am what I am” I think this:

Moving along.

Yesterday I was handed a script. I redacted some contents that were unacceptable. I did also say some things for which I should have chosen better words. I said other things that the press misinterpreted and misstated. I sincerely apologize for any comment that may have offended the Gay and Lesbian Community or their family members. Any reference to branding an entire community based on a small representation of them is wrong.

Now he’s trying to pass the buck, claiming little responsibility for the crap he spewed. Fine, you didn’t write it. Did you read it? Did you look it over and say, “hell no, I’m not reading this”? No. You read the parts you agreed with, THAT’S what you did. I’d love to know exactly what was misstated or misinterpreted. Was it the part where he said that being gay wasn’t a viable option? Because that seemed pretty fucking clear to me.

My personal beliefs are:

1) I am a live and let live person.

Unless you want a civil union or to marry someone of the same gender. Or want the right to choose to have an abortion if you’ve been raped. In those cases, tough shit!

2) I am 100% against discrimination of any group. I oppose discrimination of any kind in housing, credit, insurance benefits or visitation.
He only wants to discriminate against your right to marry. DON’T GET IT TWISTED, BITCHES!
3) I am 100% against hate crimes in any form.

 

Well, that’s good to know. Drop your pitchforks, guys!

4) I am in support of civil agreements and equal rights for all citizens.

Except for, you know, when he’s not.

5) My position on marriage is based on my personal views. I have the same position on this issue as President Barrack (sic) Obama. I have previously stated I would support a referendum by New York voters. I have proposed Initiative and Referendum so New Yorkers can decide important issues like this.

“If Obama does it, it’s OK right?” This is the same shit he pulled when questioned about his affair. Pathetic and childish.
Also, if you want to be a political leader, you have to – in my opinion – be able to set aside your personal views. What one person believes is not what all people believe. If you don’t understand this basic principle, you should not be a political leader.
Thirdly, since when is it OK to allow “the people” to vote on whether or not to grant a group of people their constitutional rights?

6) The portrayal of me as anti-gay is inconsistent with my lifelong beliefs and actions and my prior history as an father, employer and friend to many in the gay and lesbian community.

O RLY? Well then, I’m sure all the gay friends and colleagues you’ve accumulated through the years will come running to your defense… any minute now… ::crickets:: His nephew, who is gay and works on the campaign, hasn’t shown up for work all week. His nephew even said, on the record, that he was offended by what Uncle Carl said. Psst, Carl, here’s a pro-tip: if the one gay person on your staff jumps ship after you’ve made a speech that was potentially offensive, chances are it was more offensive than you think.

I swear, it’s almost over.

I am concerned with the future for all our citizens, gay, straight, Catholic, Protestant, Jewish and Muslim and Agnostic…

Yeah, so fuck you Atheists, Hindus, Krishna, Pagans, etc.!

Although I am not perfect I do admit my mistakes. I will reach out to leaders of the gay community to educate me on how to better represent my support for the rights of all citizens. If elected as your governor I will stand and fight for all gay New Yorkers rights. I ask you for forgiveness on my poorly chosen words and the publication by others not involved with our campaign of unredacted script that did not reflect my oral statement or match my personal feelings. Please go to my website http://www.paladinoforthepeople.com to learn more detail about the issues including my staunch support for civil rights for all New Yorkers.

Carl Paladouchepacker Paladino

No one wants you to apologize for picking the wrong words. The words are not the problem. It’s the emotions and ideas behind the words that are the problem. I’m pretty sure your mind hasn’t changed since Sunday. The fact that you crossed out the most bigoted and offensive parts of the speech, but left in the parts you presumably agree with, proves that the words you used support your position on the issue of marriage equality. It further proves that you are NOT the right person to govern New York State. So, thanks but no thanks for that horribly written non-pology, Carl.

 

Leave a Reply

