♫ You Don’t Own Me… ♫

I’ll keep this short and sweet. I use adult words on this blog. I say fuck. A lot. I reference sexual acts in conversation. I’m not graphic or anything. But I do use certain words and phrases that some people may not like. They find it offensive. To them I say… get the fuck over it.

I don’t like censorship in general. I think if you don’t like something you should ignore it unless it directly affects your life in some way. Me writing the word fuck on this shitty little blog that about 5 people read doesn’t affect your life. It doesn’t bar you from your pursuit of life, liberty and happiness. If you don’t like what I say, ignore me. If you feel the need to report me, more power to ya.

Some people think my “strong language” is a lazy tool of a weak mind. That it gives me the reputation of being uneducated and crude. That it might cost me friendships or keep from advancing in life. I fucking hope so! Here’s the thing… I am uneducated and crude. Why the hell would I want to be friends with prudish people who, when they see the letters B and J too close together in a sentence, get a bad case of the vapors? And I have very little ambition in life anyway. I doubt my cursing will affect the few goals I do have.

Basically, I’m not going to stop writing the way I’ve been writing. This is how I talk to my friends, this is part of who I am. I’m not going to ‘talk’ to you as though you are precious snowflakes that need coddling, OK? Grow the fuck up or get the fuck out and let’s move on.

4 Responses to ♫ You Don’t Own Me… ♫

  1. oso says:

    Assholes just can’t seem to tolerate any dissent at all.

    I think a classic example is Barbara Lee,congresswoman from Oakland who was the “1” in the 443-1 vote to invade Afghanistan. 443-1, it’s not like that one vote held up being able to blow up wedding parties over there.

    It was an overwhelming victory, yet she got all kinds of death threats for being a “traitor” and had to take extraordinary security measures. The fact that she was right maybe eased the stress a little bit.

    Point being, assholes just can’t leave it alone. A tiny blog might post something pro-Palestinian and goons come out of nowhere to hack and insult. Or something anti-Christian. Or language, whatever.

    Lotta assholes around.

  2. including the “i’ll be back when i’m back” post, I don’t see a single offensive or untrue thing anywhere on your blog. If ppl want to take offense to your very fact-based, link-laden posts, then perhaps they’re just looking for an emotional way of overcoming your argument because their intellectual capacities simply won’t be enough for the task.

  3. Jess says:

    I am at least semi highly educated and I curse like a sailor when I feel it’s warranted. I’ve never subscribed to the whole ‘lazy tool of a weak mind’ idea. I personally think making a handful of words (that describe things that other non banned words also describe) is a bit weak minded. You go with your cussing self!
    Censorship is an oppressive tool of the small minded 🙂

Leave a Reply

