The Adventures of Blue Collar Mamma

So, I’m cat and gerbil sitting for some friends of ours. I love cats and our friends are pretty awesome, so I enjoy doing it. Plus, it gives me something to do while Lil Blue is away.

As I walked up to my friend’s place(on the first floor) today, I notice that something is different. The curtains in the front windows are different. Hm. That’s weird. I walk in and one of the 2 cats, the one who usually greets me at the door, isn’t there. No big deal, I think. She’s probably just hiding somewhere. I look at the windows and, sure enough, the curtains are different. And the house is cleaner than it had been the evening before. Then I remember that my friend had once mentioned they have a cleaning person. I figure she must have decided new curtains were in order and took action. Strange but fine.

I go about my routine of feeding, watering, and cleaning up after the critters. I open a can of food for cat 1…and nothing. Normally she comes running. Strange. The other cat, cat 2, is where she always is. In the room that has the door leading out to the yard. See, these cats are allowed out when their “parents” are home, but I don’t allow them out. 1 – they’re not my cats and 2 – I’m not in the house long enough to allow them to go in and out freely(THAT’S WHAT SHE SAID!). Still, no sign of cat 1.

I remove cat 2 from the room so she doesn’t try to sneak out when I open the door to the yard. I open the glass sliding door and immediately notice that the screen door is shut. I leave it open when I leave for one reason, so that I’ll know if someone’s gone out into the yard. I know it sounds silly, but there’s nothing worse than wondering if someone has been in a place you assumed no one would be. It makes me feel like I’m crazy(well, crazier) when I’m like, “wasn’t that bag on the floor yesterday?” So, I go out and water the things that need watering. I close and lock the yard up and begin searching the house for the elusive cat 1.

I hate looking around people’s houses when they’re not there. I don’t like it when people are in my space and I assume that other people are like that as well. So looking around the house for the cat is actually making me feel guilty. I look in the obvious places. I open closets and look under furniture, calling the cat but not actually looking because I don’t want to be all up in someone’s business. Nada. I run home and shoot my friend an email. She calls and tells me not to worry, the cat is probably just hiding, here are some places to look. And I’m like, now I’m actually gonna have to look look, lol.

I go back a little while later and am convinced the cat isn’t in the house. The food and water have not been touched. Fuck. So, I look look in the places my friend suggested anyway, just to be sure. Nope. I feel like a fucking stalker because now I know where the towels and tampons are kept. And I feel like a crazy person because I’m asking cat 2, “where’s cat 1?!” like she had something to do with the disappearance.

I am about to give up hope when I happen to look in the yard. I notice there are 2 stray cats seemingly lounging around near the shed in the back. Now, I’ve had cats for pretty much all my life. I know fake nonchalant lounging when I see it! AH HA! Cat 1 must be back there! I shoo away the trespassing cats and start calling cat 1. Hm, no meowing. I decide to look under the shed. EUREKA! I call her out, she comes to me and is extremely affectionate. I carry her inside, feed her, and give her fresh water. She seems fine besides being hungry and thirsty. And genuinely happy to be back in the house.

Why am I telling you all this? Because I feel like it, that’s why. Not everything has to have a point or a moral. Besides, I’m very relieved the cat is back home safe and sound.

3 Responses to The Adventures of Blue Collar Mamma

  1. Liz says:

    Yay for the cat’s safety! Lol, I get so concerned whenever I hear of a lost cat. My poor boyfriend has to deal with me tearing up over every “Lost Cat” sign I see in the neighborhood. Yes, I’m aware of every missing cat and am on the constant lookout. I’m weird like that.

    • you’re not the only one. lil blue insists we search for every lost cat we see on a poster. he gets upset when i tell him we can’t drop everything and search the entire neighborhood for all lost cats. i’m glad he wasn’t here for this. he’s pretty close to these cats and would’ve been really upset.

  2. Mia says:

    Yay! You saved the domestic kitty from the homeless hobo cats! lol

Leave a Reply

