I’m Not Impressed

For those of you who don’t know me IRL, I have a fraternal twin sister. I love her very much and we are extremely close. It’s hard to explain what it’s like having a twin. Though we’re not identical, we have many twin characteristics. We usually know what the other one is thinking, when one is in pain the other cries, we had a twin language when we were babies… things like that. So, when I hear about multiple births I get very interested.

Why am I boring you with this shit? Because of this.

Houston’s newest quintuplets ‘a blessing’ for proud parents

As I say, I’m not impressed. Why not? Because they used fertility treatments. I’m not for or against fertility treatments per se. I’m just not impressed that they got multiple births from their pregnancy. So the hell what?

A lot of women who undergo fertility treatments(especially women under 35) are given a follicle-stimulating hormone and receive intrauterine insemination. Basically, there is a pretty  good chance that 1)multiple eggs will be released from the ovaries and 2)all or most of those eggs will be fertilized by the “cleaned” sperm. Then there’s in vitro fertilization. Some countries have a limit on the number of embryos that can be transferred. Some don’t. If you get 5 embryos transferred to your uterus and you give birth to 5 babies, that’s not a fucking miracle.

What irks me about this video most is when the mom says that prayers helped her. If prayers worked, she wouldn’t have needed fertility treatments in the first place. If the kids are such a “blessing”, why the hell are you worrying about the cost of raising 5 babies? Not to mention the older brother. That’s 6 kids you have to feed, clothe, buy diapers for, etc. The cost of raising 1 kid in Houston, TX if you make around $38,000 – $64,000 a year is around $11,000 per year. $11,000 x 6 = a lot of fucking money(that’s not counting college). And not everyone can whore their family out on T.V..

OK, so maybe I’m kind of against fertility treatments. Thousands of kids are out there just waiting to be adopted, the Earth is over-populated as it is, blah blah blah. That doesn’t change the fact that, at least in the U.S., you can produce as much womb fruit as you want. I just don’t think it’s that big of a fucking deal when you get multiple births as a result of messing with your uterus.

Now if it had happened naturally? I’d be amazed. There’s only a 1 in 65,610,000 chance of having live quintuplets(without fertility treatments)!

Pro-tip: Your vag is not a clown car.

/rant

3 Responses to I’m Not Impressed

  1. awesome post… my favorite part

    “What irks me about this video most is when the mom says that prayers helped her. If prayers worked, she wouldn’t have needed fertility treatments in the first place. If the kids are such a “blessing”, why the hell are you worrying about the cost of raising 5 babies? Not to mention the older brother. That’s 6 kids you have to feed, clothe, buy diapers for, etc. The cost of raising 1 kid in Houston, TX if you make around $38,000 – $64,000 a year is around $11,000 per year. $11,000 x 6 = a lot of fucking money(that’s not counting college). And not everyone can whore their family out on T.V..”

  2. […] I’ve mentioned before, I have a fraternal twin sister who we call Sister Blue. Well, today is our birthday. NOTE: Sister […]

Leave a Reply

