Potential Kitchen Disaster of the Day

Hello my beautiful people(all 3 of you)! Did you miss me? Well I missed you(no I didn’t). I know, you’ve been staring at your monitors night and day, waiting, hoping, praying for a PKD. And when it didn’t come you sobbed with despair. Good. Your despair sustains me, MWAHAHA!

I have a little sads of my own today. Lil Blue just left for the airport. He’s going to Florida to visit Grandma Blue, Brother Blue and Sister Blue. He’s going by himself for 2 whole weeks. I don’t know what Mr. Blue Collar and I are going to do here without him. We’ll probably socially devolve like in Lord of the Flies. By the time Lil Blue comes back we’ll be hunting each other down while wearing war paint and the tattered remains of our clothing. YAY FUN TIME!

Anyway, for Lil Blue’s going away night we decided to make pizza. And I gotta tell you, it was pretty damn delicious. In my quest to make everything in my kitchen easy(don’t you dare!), I searched for the simplest recipe for pizza dough. And here it is:

Ingredients
* 3 cups all-purpose flour
* 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
* 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 1 tablespoon white sugar
* 1 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)

Directions
1. Combine flour, salt, sugar, and yeast in a large bowl. Mix in oil and warm water. Spread out on a large pizza pan. Top as desired.

2. Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for 20 to 25 minutes.

How easy is that? Makes me never want to order pizza again. But I will, because I live in Brooklyn and we have the best pizza of all time. OF ALL TIME! Also, I’m lazy 🙂

I have a few suggestions. I spoke to one of my cousins and he suggested using bread flour instead of all-purpose. At the very least, bread flour will make the dough easier to work with, and it’s better for you. You should also let the dough rest, covered with a damp paper towel, for a few minutes before you spread it out. That helps make it easier to work with as well. Other than that, this recipe was great. I liked the flavor of the dough a lot. It was a real hit here in the Blue Collar home.

As for toppings, hey. Whatever floats your boat, baby. We made 2 pizzas. One with prosciutto, one with Genoa salami. And cheese and sauce of course. They were delicious. If you don’t want to use tomato sauce, you could just put a few slices of fresh, ripe tomato on there. Some basil, some fresh mozzarella… ¡que riquísimo!

I’ll do my very best not to let so much time go by before posting another PKD. But my very best is pretty shitty, so keep your expectations low. I promise to do the same for you.

Enjoy biznotchezzz!

4 Responses to Potential Kitchen Disaster of the Day

  1. There are four of us beautiful people out there, allegedly, unless you were having us all on about the other 3… And BTW, I have no expectations, but I forgive you since you can’t have tried my cooking…

  2. No worries, I love the web, I love finding random stuff, and I get into an “I’m so gonna leave a comment” mode about once a week, I should really just restrain myself. Your blog reads brilliantly, mine reads like I have a poker up my ass. Well done you, I hope you keep posting.

Leave a Reply

