Potential Kitchen Disaster of the Day

Alright, enough of that annoying sappy shit. It’s PKD time! I know, I know; I didn’t post a PKD yesterday. I’m sure all 3 of you were very disappointed. What can I say? I was busy(no I wasn’t).

I wanted to talk about one of my most favorite take-out/restaurant foods: Pad Thai. I love me some pad Thai. It’s sweet and sour and salty and spicy…mmmmm! But let’s face it, that shit is expensive. It’s like $7+ a plate here, depending on what kind of meat – if any – you want with it. I say to hell with that! Everybody – “DAMN THE MAN! Make that shit yo’self!”

Now, I’ve tried making the sauce for pad Thai before. I have one word for how it came out. Horrendous. I’m just not good at it. So, I do what any self-respecting Blue Collar Mamma would do. I cheat! There are a whole bunch of pad Thai sauces available now in chain supermarkets, this one is most common. Just check out the “ethnic” aisle. That’s also where you’ll find pad Thai noodles. Do not substitute the noodles with regular spaghetti or anything, trust me. It’s not the same. Part of the beauty of pad Thai is the texture of the noodles. If you live near an Asian market and have access to more authentic sauces/ingredients, then get your asses on down there! Don’t be intimidated by the language barrier. Mostly I’ve found that, despite the language barrier, shopkeepers are eager to help you out. Just remember to be polite. Shouting English words doesn’t make them easier to understand.

So, here is the simplest recipe for pad Thai I’ve ever seen. I’m going to try it this weekend:

Vegetable Pad Thai with Snow Peas(via Allrecipes.com)

Ingredients
* 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
* 2 cups onions, finely slivered
* 4 cups Napa cabbage, finely sliced
* 2 cups red pepper, coarsely chopped
* 1 cup carrots, peeled and finely sliced
* 2 cups snow peas
* 1 (355 ml) bottle VH® Pad Thai Sauce
* 1/2 (12 ounce) package Pad Thai noodles (prepared as directed on package)
* 1/2 cup roasted peanuts, coarsely chopped

Directions
1. In a large pan heat oil over medium-high, saute onions, cabbage, red pepper, carrots and snow peas until tender, about 12 minutes.

2. Add VH® Pad Thai Sauce and noodles to pan and toss until heated through. Serve sprinkled with peanuts. To avoid noodles from sticking to the pan turn off heat while tossing with sauce.

OK, I’m not using this exact recipe. I will be using peanut oil instead of vegetable. I probably won’t use snow peas if I can’t get them for a good price. Also, there is always egg in pad Thai. I will probably add an egg and scramble it in with the vegetables. If I can find a good price on bean sprouts, those suckers are going in, too. I don’t see any reason why meat or tofu couldn’t be added, as long as you don’t add it too soon. Don’t want dry, over done protein.

I hope you bastards have a fabulous weekend. I’ll probably post something at some point during the weekend. Or not. Whatever.

Enjoy, biznotchezzzzzzzzzzzz!

Leave a Reply

