My Country Tis of Thee…

There are people I know who would argue that I’m not patriotic; that I hate this country and what they think it stands for. That is completely the opposite of the truth.

Because I love my country, I try to learn its entire history. Not just the nice, pleasant stuff they teach us in school. To truly love something you must accept it for all it is; you must take the bad with the good.

Because I love my country, I try to learn about it politics. I try to participate in that political process regardless of how small my effect on it may be.

Because I love my country, I accept that there are people who disagree with my ideology. I accept that most of us(but certainly not all) want the same things; we just disagree on the right way to get there. This constant debate is one of the things that makes this country so great. It is a beautiful thing.

Because I love my country, I refuse to accept anything but the best from it. If I feel we are not living up to our full potential as a nation, I will use my voice. I will not be afraid to speak out against those who make poor decisions that go against what the majority in this country want.

I don’t like the phrase, “America, love it or leave it!” My love for America isn’t so black and white. I don’t love everything this country has done and is doing. I love my country, and I want it to continuously change for the better. And I want to help in any way I can.

I refuse to live in a country that doesn’t move forward toward a better future. And I’m not leaving…

Happy Independence Day

There was a big high wall there
That tried to stop me
Sign was painted
Said private property
But on the back side
It didn’t say nothin’
This land was made for you and me

Leave a Reply

