Housekeeping Tips, Blue Collar Style

In case you couldn’t tell by the title of this blog, we’re blue collar. I don’t mean the nice, crisp, Oxford style, neat and tidy kind of blue collar. We’re a ring around the blue collar because I forgot to pre-treat  it type of family. I, for one, am unapologetic about it. My family is happy, my friends are great. I am the richest woman in the world.

There are a few tricks I’ve learned along the way to help cut costs around the house. Sometimes, you just don’t need a lot of the chemicals and store-bought crap to maintain a happy and healthy home. Here are a few things to help you out:

1 – Insect repellent. To repel mosquitoes, eat lots of garlic. I know it sounds silly, but who wants to say no to garlic? Also, catnip oil. If you have a fly problem, get some mint. Put it into little satchets and hang them near the openings to your home(doors, windows). One year, we had so many flies on our kitchen windows it looked like that scene from The Exorcist. Since I’ve started doing this mint sachet thing I don’t get any flies during the warmer months.

2 – Color Safe Bleach. When I give you this one, you’re going to kick yourself for spending $5+ on that clorox 2 shit. Measure out equal parts water and hydrogen peroxide. Pour into clean plastic container, cleaned out milk jug or laundry detergent jug is fine(be sure to mark it clearly). Shake it up and presto! Safe on whites and colors. Keep out of reach of the kiddies.

3 – Sore Throat Remedy. I get a sore throat pretty often because of allergies and post-nasal drip(enjoy your lunch 😀 ). I hate those OTC throat medications. They taste like cherry flavored despair. Instead, try this remedy my blue collar mamma taught me. Mix together a tsp of honey, a few squeezes of lemon juice, and some salt. take a tsp of that 2-3 times a day. Usually when I take it, my throat clears up in a day or 2. If you suspect you or your kid may have serious throat infection(like strep) don’t mess around. Get your ass to a doctor.

I hope these few tips help you out a bit. I have more, but I’m too lazy to write them now. Let me know if you try these and what your results were. If you like this, or any other posts, holla atcha blue collar mamma(I fail at slang)! And share away, even if it’s to mock me. It’s OK, I can take it.

2 Responses to Housekeeping Tips, Blue Collar Style

  1. Kristine says:

    Note: I believe the insect reference made was to Amittyville Horror, not the exorcist.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

