Potential Kitchen Disaster of the Day

Holy underwear! It’s a glorious day here in Brooklyn. The humidity is finally gone. I can cook for my family without feeling an intense urge to throw my stove out of the window for making me sweat like Michael Jackson at a cub scout convention.

Since it’s not hotter than Satan’s a-hole up in this piece today, I’ve decided to give you lovelies a recipe I love and that seems way fancier than it actually is.

Pork Tenderloin with Roasted New Potatoes:
1 pork tenderloin; about 1-2lbs(I just buy the one that looks the best)
1-2lbs new potatoes(whichever ones you like); quartered
about 1/3 cup of oil
1-2 cloves of garlic, minced
about 1tbsp italian seasoning(basil,oregano, marjoram, rosemary, thyme)
about ½ tsp ground cumin
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375. Mix garlic, italian seasoning, cumin, salt, pepper and oil together. Coat meat with some of the oil mixture. Put it into a large roasting pan. Coat potatoes with the rest of the oil mixture. Put potatoes in pan around meat. Cook covered for about 20-25 minutes. Uncover and stir potatoes. Continue to cook uncovered for another 10 minutes or so. Internal temp should be 155 degrees and juices should run clear. Let meat rest 10 minutes before slicing. Serve. Sit back with a look of smug satisfaction on your face as the people you’ve served praise your kitchen prowess.

I don’t have an instant read thermometer. I rely on my mad funky fresh cooking skillz to know when my pork is done. When the juices run clear, you’re safe. DO NOT cut the meat until it has rested. It will continue to cook, so you’ll know it’s definitely safe to eat. Also, the juices need to redistribute. Trust me. Have I ever steered you wrong?

Leave a Reply

