Monday Mom Time!

So, for those of you who hate when moms talk smack about mom stuff…I don’t know, go read something way more awesome than this. The fact is, I am a mom and sometimes I need to put my mom perspective on things. I promise not to be too over the top(no i don’t).

I have one kid. I think he’s the most badass thing on the planet. I love him more than I have ever loved anything(sorry, chocolate cake). He is the most important thing to me. And he knows that Mr. Blue Collar and I feel that way about him. That said, I want you to know that I don’t expect you to feel the same way about my son. Shocking, I know! I don’t expect you to think he’s the most precious thing you’ve ever seen and to treat him like a little prince.

Do I want you to treat my kid like he’s invisible, or like he’s a pest to be tolerated for whatever short period of time you need to be around him? No, of course not. But I can’t control how other people feel about my kid. I think it’s ridiculous and unrealistic for parents to expect complete strangers to treat their kid like they’re special little angels. If you treat him poorly, you better believe I’m gonna call you out on it though. Don’t mess with a Blue Collar Mamma! All I want is people to treat him with the same general respect they’d treat any other stranger. Please, thank you, excuse me. That sort of thing.Ya know?

No, I don’t think your kid is the cutest kid ever. Why would you even ask me that? I think MY kid is the cutest kid ever. Because he’s my kid. That’s how that works, see? I don’t have to like your kid just because he/she happens to be a child. Sorry. Sometimes the shit you let your kid do ain’t cute. It’s annoying. I’m not saying change the way you’re doing things. It’s your kid, you do what you want. I’m saying I don’t have to like it.

No, I don’t think every woman on Earth wants to be a mom. Not even a little. And yes, I think that’s perfectly OK. In fact, I think it’s wonderful that a woman can know herself so well and be so completely honest with herself about such a thing. Bravo, non-moms! ::standing ovation::

No, I don’t want anymore kids. No more womb fruit here, sorry. No, Lil Blue Collar doesn’t want a little brother or sister. He’s not dumb. New sibling = having to share. He’s having none of that shit. Our little Blue Collar family is whole, complete with chosen family(our awesomely awesome friends) and blood family(the ones we’d be chill with even if they weren’t related).

It does take a village to raise a child. But I think “village” should be interpreted as the people you choose to have around your kid, not the entirety of the human race.

Aaaaaand end rant. This long-winded ramble was brought to you today by Andrew Wakefield, Jenny McCarthy and the anti-vaccine crazies(not really, but it is an interesting article).

Last day of school today, WOOHOO!!

2 Responses to Monday Mom Time!

  1. Liz says:

    Thank you for not raising a spoiled brat.

    I can’t speak for all women who don’t want kids, but I’d like to say thanks. I get the strangest reactions from disbelief to downright condemnation when I tell people I don’t want to have children.

    I don’t dislike children, I just don’t think I’d be able to raise one that well. I can barely take care of myself and it wouldn’t be fair to bring a new life in when I am so drastically unprepared.

    On a side note, I think the majority of the world’s problems stem from overpopulation.

  2. overpopulation is one of the reasons we’re not having any more kids. and i think you’re great for knowing what you want and, more specifically, what you don’t want. there ain’t a damn thing wrong with you not wanting womb fruit.

    i think parents are just expecting way too much patience from people concerning their own children. i don’t know, i could be wrong about that :: shrugs ::

Leave a Reply

