Don’t Trust Anything That Has “BS” Right in its Name

I know. I said I wasn’t going to post anything on the weekend. What can I say? I’m a dirty, rotten liar.

It’s just that I read an article yesterday regarding the Boy Scouts of America, and I decided I should see what all the fuss was about. People have suggested I put my son into the BSA and I’ve always said no. And here’s why:

The Boy Scouts of America maintains that no member can grow into the best kind of citizenship without recognizing an obligation to God. In the first part of the Scout Oath or Promise the member declares, “On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law.” The recognition of God as the ruling and leading power in the universe and the grateful acknowledgment of His favors and blessings are necessary to the best type of citizenship and are wholesome precepts in the education of the growing members.

The BSA has every right to discriminate. SCOTUS has ruled them to be a private organization. And people have the right to put their kid in any organization they want. I choose not to put my son in an organization which openly and  unapologetically discriminates against people based on their religious preference(or, more appropriately, their lack of one) or their sexual orientation.

We’re trying to teach our son a basic Secular Humanist principle: you can be good without “god”. I want him to be a good person because he wants to do the right thing. Not because he’s afraid of going to hell. Oh, and by the way, our son isn’t an atheist. He’s too young for such a heavy label. When he asks us a question about a religion we answer in the most neutral way possible. When he gets older he can decide for himself what he wants to believe or not believe.

I don’t think you’re a bad person if you put your kid in the BSA. You’re doing what you think is best for your kid. I’m just doing what I think is best for mine.

…I wonder if they let Wiccans join?

2 Responses to Don’t Trust Anything That Has “BS” Right in its Name

  1. Liz says:

    As an atheist, I think it’s really cool that you don’t force that on your son. My father was an atheist but he never said anything about it until one day when I confessed that I didn’t believe. I think it’s better to let people figure stuff out for themselves anyhow and it’s nice to see that at least someone’s not raising a jackass in Brooklyn. There’s enough transplants ruining everything as it is!

  2. […] I want to sort of update something I posted recently. There is one of those annoying, full of shit emails going around about the President not wanting […]

Leave a Reply

